Proud to be Asian

Discover More

The 63rd Ramon Magsaysay Awards

Join us in all the public virtual events as part of this year’s Ramon Magsaysay Awards Festival Season
Discover More

Ramon Magsaysay Transformative Leadership Institute

Discover More

Asia's Future Re-Imagined

A global virtual conference on the forces shaping Asia's future featuring selected Ramon Magsaysay Awardees and other thought-leaders
DIscover More

Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation

In recognition of greatness of spirit shown in selfless service to the peoples of Asia
Discover More

Asia's Premier Prize and Highest Honor

The Ramon Magsaysay Award, Asia’s premier prize and highest honor, celebrates greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in Asia. Since 1958, the Ramon Magsaysay Award has been bestowed on over three hundred outstanding individuals and organizations whose selfless service has offered their societies, Asia, and the world successful solutions to some of the most intractable problems of human development.
Learn More
Each year, transformative leaders working in Asia are added to the roster of distinguished Ramon Magsaysay laureates.asd
Discover More

Our Awardees

Celebrating greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in Asia

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation was created by the Rockefeller Brothers Fund, in concurrence with the Philippine government, in 1957, the year the world lost a leader who was well-loved for his simplicity and humility, his passion for justice, particularly for the poor, and his advancement of human dignity: Pres. Ramon Magsaysay.

Celebrating the 65th Anniversary

As the Ramon Magsaysay Award marks its 65th year in 2023, we continue to celebrate those who embody Greatness of Spirit—inspiring tomorrow’s leaders.

We will lay the foundation towards 100 years to jumpstart our mission for our Laureates and our community. Beginning with our home, the Ramon Magsaysay Center, we will improve our existing facilities and create new incubators that will inspire the future generation of Asian leaders to ignite action and interconnect across the region.

Join the journey

Quick facts on the
Ramon Magsaysay Awards

Rockefeller Brothers Fund

The trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund (RBF) established the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation in 1957 to honor the memory and perpetuate the example of integrity in public service of Pres. Ramon Magsaysay.


The first Ramon Magsaysay Awards were given on August 31, 1958 to a Philippine-based organization and five outstanding individuals working in India, Indonesia, Philippines, Republic of China (Taiwan) and Sri Lanka.

22 Countries

Since 1958, the award has been given to individuals and organizations working in Asia —regardless of race, nationality, creed or gender—who address issues of human development in Asia with courage and creativity, and in doing so have made contributions which have transformed their societies for the better.

Republic Act No. 3676

The Philippine Congress, in 1959, made a gift of land to the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) equivalent in value to the original RBF grant. In 1963, a subsequent legislation gave RMAF full tax exemption.

6 Categories

Until 2008, the award was given in each of the six fields of activity: Government Service; Public Service; Community Leadership; Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts; Peace and International Understanding; and Emergent Leadership.

Emergent Leadership

Inaugurated in 2001, the Ramon Magsaysay Award for Emergent Leadership is conferred to individuals 40 years old and below, or organizations 12 years old and below . It is supported by a grant from the Ford Foundation.

340 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees

As of 2021, 314 individuals and 26 organizations from 22 countries across Asia have been elected to receive Asia’s premier prize and highest honor.

Ramon Magsaysay Transformative Institute (RMTLI)

Created in 2009, RMTLI was established as a major program of the RMAF, to further expand the impact of the Ramon Magsaysay Award and the transformative work of the Magsaysay laureates

Ramon Magsaysay Transformative Leadership Institute

In 2009, the Ramon Magsaysay Transformative Leadership Institute (RMTLI) was established as a major program of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, to further expand the impact of the Magsaysay Award and the transformative work of Magsaysay laureates.
RMTLI presents an avenue for creative collaboration; a hub for sharing and connecting the solutions of Magsaysay Laureates across sectors and borders. So that more lives can become full and productive.

Latest Happenings

News & Events

The Center

The Ramon Magsaysay Center:
An Asian Landmark

Three things stand out in the Ramon Magsaysay Center: discipline, elegance, and technique. There seems a unique union of ideology common among its creators, anchored in efficient planning, cost of building, and structural integrity. - BluPrint Magazine